Album Review – NOW 43: THAT’S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! – Capitol compilation

This review also appears on here

Sample “Too Close” by Alex Clare on You Tube, included on NOW 43: THAT”S WHAT I CALL MUSIC!

Visit Now That’s What I Call Music!

Dear Music Appreciators,

If you don’t already know most of these songs, then welcome to the world of popular music during the second decade of the twenty-first century. What kind of music is popular these days you ask? Well, it’s mostly big, thumping, tricked-out electro pop songs performed by sexed up solo acts (just five out of the twenty tracks are from a “band” in the traditional sense of the word). These are songs primarily about relationships, self-affirmation, and sex delivered in a top forty style that is great for dancing, working out, or driving fast.

But this collection isn’t purely corporate hit machine pop music – refreshing diversions from the typical sounding, thumping hit pop songs include “Lights,” “Too Close,” Midnight City,” “Drunk On You,” “Here’s to Us,” and “My Oh My.” It’s also notable that this collection includes contributions from a country star, a few rock bands, and a number of singer-songwriter types.

If you listen regularly to top forty type radio stations, then whether you know it or not you will already be familiar with most of the tracks here. Although every track here has appeared on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, just two have made it all the way to number one.

For those who are interested, here are some details about the origin of each song. Single release dates are not considered, except where a studio album has not been released yet.

1. “Call Me Maybe” – Carly Rae Jepsen – from the studio album (EP) CURIOSITY released on 02/14/12
2. “Part of Me” – Katy Perry – from the studio album TEENAGE DREAM: THE COMPLETE CONFECTION released on 03/26/12
3. “Payphone” – Maroon 5 – from the studio album OVEREXPOSED released on 06/26/12
4. “Titanium (feat. Sia)” – David Guetta – from the studio album NOTHING BUT THE BEAT released on 08/26/11
5. “Lights” – Ellie Goulding – from the studio album LIGHTS released (in the U.S.) on 03/08/11
6. “Boyfriend” – Justin Bieber – from the studio album BELIEVE released on 06/15/12
7. “Scream: – Usher – from the studio album LOOKING 4 MYSELF released on 06/08/12
8. “Let’s Go (feat. Ne-Yo)” – Calvin Harris – released 03/30/12 as a single for an upcoming unamed LP
9. “Back in Time – Pitbull – originally intended to be included on MIB3 movie soundtrack, but released as a stand alone single instead on 03/26/12
10. “Want You Back: – Cher Lloyd – from the studio album STICKS + STONES released on 11/07/11
11. “One Thing” – One Direction – from the studio album UP ALL NIGHT released on 11/18/11
12. “Give Your Heart a Break – Demi Lovato – from the studio album UNBROKEN released on 09/20/11
13. “Too Close” – Alex Clare – from the studio album THE LATENESS OF THE HOUR released on 07/11/11
14. “Midnight City” – M83 – from the studio album HURRY UP, WE’RE DREAMING released on 10/18/11
15. “Everybody Talks” – Neon Trees – from the studio album PICTURE SHOW released on 04/17/12
16. “Drunk On You” – Luke Bryan – from the studio album TAILGATES & TANLINES released on 08/09/11
17. “Here’s To Us” – Halestorm – from the studio album THE STRANGE CASE OF… released on 04/10/12
18. “My Oh My” – Tristan Prettyman – from the forthcoming studio album CEDAR + GOLD to be released on 09/25/12
19. “Love Actually” – Cady Groves – stand alone single released 06/29/12, eventually to be included on a debut LP?
20. “I Don’t Like You” – Eva Simons – stand alone single released 03/26/12, eventually to be included on a debut LP?


Constant Listener

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s